About the County


Home of the University of Oklahoma and including portions of the Oklahoma City greater metropolitan area, Cleveland County's population is boosted by residents in South OKC, Moore and Norman. Despite being an urban hub, however, Cleveland County's rural communities provide a diverse and culturally rich heritage from east Norman and the Little Axe/Newalla area which is home to many Absentee Shawnee tribal members to the beautiful acreages of farmland, ranches and small town friendliness found in Lexington, Noble and Slaughterville.

Cleveland County is located in the central part of Oklahoma. The population was estimated at 269,340 in 2013. It is the third most populous county and one of only three urban counties in Oklahoma. The county seat is Norman. Founded in 1890, the county was named after President Grover Cleveland.


Etowah: Sheriff Non Emergency 405-701-8916

Lexington: Police Non Emergency 405-527-9881

Moore: Police Non Emergency 405-793-5171

Noble: Police Non Emergency 405-872-9231

Norman: Police Non Emergency 405-321-1444

Oklahoma City: Police Non Emergency 405-231-2121

Slaughterville: Sheriff Non Emergency 405-701-8916

Unincorporated: Sheriff Non Emergency 405-701-8916

Cities in County


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 558 square miles (1,445.2 km), of which 536 square miles (1,388.2 km) is land and 22 square miles (57.0 km) (3.98%) is water. It is the seventh smallest county in the state.

Cleveland County contains the reservoir Lake Thunderbird 5,349 acres (21.65 km), constructed between 1962 and 1965.

Cleveland County is the origin of the Little River, a tributary of the Canadian River, 90 miles (140 km) long. The Canadian River defines the southern border of Cleveland County.

Adjacent Counties:

  • Oklahoma County (north)
  • Pottawatomie County (east)
  • McClain County (southwest)
  • Canadian County (northwest)